Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua, on Saturday, November 19, dispelled reports of widening cracks in the ruling Kenya Kwanza Coalition. 

Speaking while addressing a graduation ceremony at Outspan Medical College in Nyeri, Gachagua stated that harmony within the coalition was still intact contrary to multiple reports. 

Gachagua described the Kenya Kwanza government as a permanent marriage bound to longevity.

The marriage, he added, was instituted after the August 2022 election victory and had, so far, shown signs of delivering benefits to the nation. 

On August 9, a grand wedding was held, a permanent one until death do us part. This marriage between President Ruto, ourselves and the rest of Kenyans was a result of a long courtship; we fell in love and agreed to work together,” the DP stated. 

In addition, the second-in-command dismissed reports published by media outlets about dissatisfaction of some members and a looming fallout within the President William Ruto-led faction.

“Let the press not create a problem where there is none, there are no cracks in Ruto’s government,” Gachagua added. 

However, DP Gachagua acknowledged a disagreement among the coalition’s members during the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) elections which he stated was solved amicably. 

Nyeri Governor Mutahi Kahiga on Friday, November 18, alluded that the party was out to sideline the Mount Kenya region. 

Kahiga, who spoke at the swearing-in ceremony of the Nyeri County Executive Committee members, stated that Mount Kenya would resist any attempts to shortchange the region. 

“Yesterday, we looked in depth at the happenings in Parliament during the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) nominees elections, and we saw what transpired,” Governor Kahiga stated while referring to the EALA election. 

Media reports claimed that Mt Kenya legislators went against the party’s resolution and elected Maina Mwangi who was initially left out of the ratified list. 

The lawmakers hang Fred Muteti to dry, replacing him with Maina Mwangi, who joined David Sankok, Hassan Omar, Zipporah Kering and Falhadha Dekow as Kenya Kwanza’s EALA representatives.

Sourced from Kenyans

Leave your comment