Its now emerging that some of the UDA elected Members of Parliament will have to resign to take up other state jobs in the coming days.

This is after President-elect William Ruto, the party leader, emerged victorious in the concluded presidential election, with it emerging that the three will be appointed as Cabinet Secretaries.

Sources told The Star that the three are Kandara Member of Parliament Alice Wahome, Aden Duale (Garissa Township) and Kipchumba Murkomen, the Elgeyo Marakwet Senator.

The paper was told that the three are among those who will be named as Ruto’s Cabinet Ministers before he flies out of the country for  77th session of the UN General Assembly in the United States.

“It appears that there will be a few by-elections in the country because some MPs will be tapped into the Kenya Kwanza Cabinet,” a top member of Ruto’s camp told the paper.

Earlier, there were reports that Kiharu parliamentarian Ndindi Nyoro was also going to be considered, but insiders have now ruled this idea out.

The paper has established that the lawmaker will remain in parliament, the same being the case with his Kikuyu counterpart Kimani Ichungwa, another staunch and vocal supporter of Ruto.

“Nyoro will be a key cog of Kenya Kwanza in Parliament, he was one of the pioneers of the Hustler nation and understands our agenda. He will team up with Kimani Ichung’wa(Kikuyu MP) to push for our policies,” another insider of Ruto said.

Ruto will be sworn in at the Kasarani Stadium today, in an event slated to be attended by close to 20 Heads of States. He is expected to soon reorganize his government in accordance with the law.

Story courtesy

Leave your comment