IEBC has set up deadlines for political events heading to August 2022 general elections.

Today 9th Feb 2022 is when all civil servants who wish to contest for political seats should have resigned. A drove of them has already resigned. The remaining number is expected to tender their resignation to the president or relevant employing authority today.

On 14th March IEBC will start the process of appointing returning officers.

On 9th April is the deadline for registration of coalition political parties deadline. OKA has already registered their coalition but Ruto and Raila are yet to register their coalitions.

On 16th April IEBC will gazette names of aspirants participating in party primaries for all six elective seats.

22nd April is when political parties will submit names for candidates who will eyeing Presidency. This includes running mates.

On 2nd May will be deadline for independent candidates to exit political parties. If you are vying as an independent, you cannot be member of a political party.

On 29th May is when official campaign period starts although politicians have been campaigning since 2017.

9th August is when the country will hold its general election.

Leave your comment